Cheap-a-cino

Coffee addicts everywhere! I have huge news that will change your life and your summer bank balance forever! Okay so maybe I am being a little bit over the top here, but I am telling you that this recipe I am about to share with you, is utterly incredible and so much easier than you would think

Behold the Cheap-a-cino!

Every single year, when the weather starts to get warmer, we all turn to a ice-cold beverage to cool down from the heat (well when we actually get Sun!) and so if you are a coffee lover like myself, you go to your nearest Starbucks and get yourself a delicious frappucino to go.

But they really are over priced so they must make a killing – though I won’t go into  to their tax contribution. So it has always led me to discover the secret to creating my very own frap at home to save on spending so much on coffee. After years of searching for the answer, I have finally discovered it, and at your requests, I am sharing it with you today!

The secret…xanthan gum.

What is Xanthan Gum, I am sure you will ask. It is a an emulsifier and so it allows other ingredients to blend more effectively and bind smoothly and become a thick mixture. Commonly used as a gluten replacement as it can make dough a sticky consistency.

Become your own barista and make your very own Cheap-a-cino today! Saving you money, and it actually a healthier alternative to any coffee chain version.

Ingredients

  • 200ml milk
  • 5-6 large ice cubes
  • 1-2 expresso shots
  • 2 tbsp stevia
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 4 tbsp Syrup of choice

Method

  • First of all begin by making the expresso shots, by boiling hot water, adding your coffee granules to a cup then pouring minimal water until all coffee granules are mixed in.
  • Leave to cool for a little while (but you can add it straight way, just add more ice)
  • Next add milk and ice to a blender, followed by the remaining ingredients.
  • Finally add in the coffee and blitz together until a thick, creamy texture.
  • Serve in a glass jar and enjoy!

I love to use Walden Farms French Vanilla syrup, or TRKG caramel or vanilla syrups for a no-sugar option to sweeten your drink. Other options could be to add honey, agave nectar, or even add in some cocoa powder!

If you give this recipe a go, please be sure to tag me in any of your posts, using the hashtag #growingbutterfly and tag me on IG @growingbutterfly – I would love to see your creations.

 

 

Leave a Reply

