Studying the Mind |Wellbeing Week at Staffordshire University

When I first made the decision to go to university, one of the next big choices I had to make was deciding which one I would go to. Given the fact that life had thrown so many obstacles in my way already, there was definitely even more of a reason to select the best place for me to study in order to look after my health and wellbeing throughout my time at university.

Although it did appeal to me to move away and have what some would class as ‘the full university experience’, I knew in my heart that staying at home would be the best solution for me as I have incredible support from my family in times of struggle. Where I live I am very fortunate to have two very good universities nearby, so it was down to which one felt the most proactive in raising awareness about mental health amongst students and how well they look after people who are suffering or learning to cope with their issues.

It was on those two specificationsΒ that Staffordshire University topped the list. There students union is one of the most amazing in the country, creating a community and network for students to get involved in through so many different avenues throughout their studies and beyond. The current president of the SU Jaime-Lee Cunningham has launched the ‘Wellbeing Week’ campaign with the aim to spread a positive message regarding mental health, and how Staffordshire University is encouraging more people to talk about it.

Wellbeing Week.jpg

Here are some of the statistics that have been shared by the union…

One in four students have a diagnosable mental health illness

40% of students with mental health worries do not seek additional help

80% of students feel overwhelmed by their responsibilities as a student

50% of students have been so anxious that they struggle with their studies

Seeing those figures doesn’t surprise me, but it does instill how difficult it can be for anyone to go through university or any form of education. In order for every person to have a happy and healthy life whilst at university, it is essential that there is a focus on talking openly about the problems that can occur due to the pressures a degree can put a person under.

Without taking care of your own body and mind, you won’t be able to give your all to whatever it is that you dream of doing. It may seem like a soppy subject to think about but there is no denying that every single one of us has negative feelings, thoughts, and emotions that affect our productivity, social life and our self-confidence.

I am already so proud to be a student at Staffordshire University and hope to get involved more in the second year of my degree with the SU to continue this campaign on to bigger and better things for current and future students. If you would like to read more about my own experience with mental health, follow the link below that takes you through my journey so far.

Back to the Books

Also here are a few more blog posts that share an insight into how to overcome the hardships and become a stronger person for them.

Rebuilding Foundations

The Pursuit of Happiness

Stuck in a Rutt

Remember you are never alone, and that there is always a glimmer of light in every situation.

x

Leave a Reply

